Strong Naya

As I said before in a previous post, one of my girls, Naya had an unfortunate incident with joeys in pouch. I still do not know what happened to her, it still puzzles me and I did try asking people from overseas if they have ever heard of such a problem but they too are clueless. I’m lucky Naya survived. Yes, some of you may ask, why didn’t I go to see a vet? Well, the day I found her sleeping outside of the sleeping pouch, I didn’t really thought it was strange since it could be that it was cooler to sleep outside. But once I found out that she didn’t want to eat, that’s when I started to worry. I found out only at night, so being 12am onwards, there was no vet around. Worst of all is that I couldn’t get an off day from work. So I had to rely on my quick thinking and first aid skills. A few calls to friends also helped me abit. Thank you guys.

Today, Naya is doing very well. She lost weight due to the incident but gradually putting it back on. Her appetite now is like a wolf, she eats as much as her tummy would allow her and each time she licks everything clean.

Now how did I get the joeys out? The joeys, let me remind you, were already dead inside of Naya. I have no idea why she didn’t take them so the rotting joeys made her sick. It was all a gut feeling I had, and I’m glad Naya trust me. She is not a bonded glider but she trust me alot. She let me take out the dead joeys and let me clean her pouch. I can still remember the rotting smell and it just gives me shivers. Here is a photo of the dead joeys. This is the first time this thing have ever happened to me. Joeys that die once OOP and get eaten up is normal as so far Kiah has done that once but joeys that die while in pouch is truly strange.

Breeding has its ups and downs, and this is one of the downs in breeding. This is why I always advice newbies, try to avoid breeding if you are still new with gliders. It takes knowledge and courage to face such difficulties.

Thank goodness Naya gained back her health. Just 2 days after I took the dead joeys out, Naya regained back her usual self, her ravenous appetite came back and she started to become active again. Here are a few photos of her. She is now retired from breeding. No more breeding for her after such a thing happened. I’m carrying her around when I’m home, and she just likes to sleep on the back of my neck or just look around on my shoulder or groom my cheek. Sigh, she has now become my heart glider. Naya, my strong girl.

The current bouncing babies

Been quite busy, as I’ve said before, I’m currently doing my industrial training at Bangsar and …. man…. it’s busy busy everyday at the restaurant. Anyway, as busy as I am right now, I still have to spend some quality time with my gliders as well as all their bouncing joeys. Sorry to the future moms and dads of my little ones. I know I should have updated earlier but I just didn’t have the energy to go upstairs to grab my camera whenever I’m already down in the living hall playing with the gliders. So here is an update.

Jinx

This little guy is the latest one. He is from Kiah and Kimba, this is Kiah’s 2nd joey. Jinx OOP on 11 October 2009. Currently at 13g.

===================================================

RainDrop and DustStorm

I know the name sounds weird, but then I kinda ran out of new names, and then when I read the news about rain and floods, and then a dust storm in Australia, then it just gave me an idea hahaha. Anyway, RainDrop is the little girl and DustStrom is a boy. RainDrop gets startled easily now, but with more handling she should be fine. I hope you look forward in getting her Nigel. Now DustStorm is a brave lad. He is…. too brave…. this is the first time he is seeing my camera, and I placed it infront of him before taking any pictures. What he did was launched himself to my camera and gave his biggest loudest bravest crab. Then he lifted both his front hands and tried to show the camera that he was boss. It was funny. Little boy with a big attitude. Both OOP on 28 September 2009.

DustStorm

RainDrop

Dusty(top) and Rain(bottom)

==================================================

Salem

This guy here is Oshine and Chiwek’s son. Well, this active fella is still looking for a forever home. If you are interested, you can email me. He just weaned off piggyback riding on his mom. Completely independent but this guy is a cautious fella, so he needs a patient owner. But I’m in no hurry coz if he doesn’t get a new owner, I will still keep him coz he is just a lovely boy to have around. Oh yah, he OOP on 15 August 2009.

====================================================

Chester and Jenny

These 2 are Keera and Kuno’s first 2 joeys. I find them kinda small size, maybe they follow Keera’s structure. They are so sticky to their parents. While I was taking pictures, Keera didn’t want to get out of the cage, so Kuno and the kids came out. He is a good dad, see the pictures and you will know. Anyway, both Chester and Jenny are quite calm joeys. OOP on 11 September 2009, these 2 are stubborn little things and wouldn’t stay still for a picture. As soon as they saw dad, they quickly piggyback on him

Chester

Jenny and Kuno

The kids trying to torture Kuno

===================================================

Muffin

This little baby girl OOP on August 11 2009. She will be going home to Mr Arifin and family. Muffin is from Kopee and Tyke. She is a dainty little thing, gentle and calm so she is quite good to handle. I find her very entertaining to watch as she jumps about in the cage. Kopee isn’t a very good mom so Muffin weaned quite early. I will upload her picture later since my camera ran out of juice after taking so many pictures. Stay tuned.

===================================================

And joeys on the way….. Jessie and Pugle have 2 joeys, they are still in pouch.